Board of Directors


President: Rayne Tunley
1st Vice-President: Garry Hamilton
2nd Vice-President: Jean Pederson
Past President: William Rogers


Directors at Large:


Gill Cameron
Karin Isenburg
Peter Marsh


Regional Directors:


Eastern Ontario: Robert Shackles
Central Ontario: Lin Souliere
Northern Ontario: Ellen Catherwood
Western Ontario: vacant
British Columbia: Heidi Lambert
Alberta/Prairies: Rex Beanland
Quebec: Richard BĂ©langer
Atlantic Canada: Nora Gross
trans-1x1 (1K)
Administrator: Anita Cotter


The Canadian Society of Painters in Water Colour (CSPWC) was founded in 1925 by some of the most illustrious artists in Canadian art history who passionately believed in the importance of watercolour as a medium. The CSPWC encourages experimentation while honouring the transparent tradition of the medium.

  1. With a strong base of volunteers,the CSPWC:
  2. honours excellence in watercolour through Open Water an annual juried exhibition with major awards, open to all artists.
  3. presents regional, national and international exhibitions of work by members.
  4. organizes workshops and demonstrations across the country.
  5. collects contemporary and historical Canadian watercolours.

Education is an important part of our mandate. Since 1991 we have been sponsoring Awards for Excellence in Watercolour at Colleges of Art & Design in Nova Scotia, Ontario and Alberta. There is also the Ethel Racius Award available at the hight school level.


CSPWC meeting in the Library of the Grange, Toronto c. 1932.
Left to right: Joachim Gauthier, Franklin Carmichael, A.J.Casson, Thomas W. MacLean and Conyers Barker.
Photograph by Charles Comfort.

Comments are closed